HUSTLE FILE #90: Sarah Anne Hartzog


NAME: Sarah Anne Hartzog

OCCUPATION: Jewelry Designer

LOCATION: Los Angeles

WHAT’S YOUR HUSTLE: After almost 10 years in the fashion industry, I bailed and started Hartfield in 2011. My first collection is for Spring ’12 and everything is made with horsehair and precious metals. It’s all made by me in my studio in Los Feliz.

WHAT DOES YOUR HUSTLE MEAN TO YOU: I feel like if I don’t constantly stay challenged and creative then I have no value and I’m hella bummed. Hartfield is a reflection of my story but its also a fist-to-the-sky statement about honouring tactile crafts in a technology-obsessed world. This work actually makes me bleed and sweat and that’s awesome. I was so burned out on office jobs that it’s my way of restoring balance. Don’t get me wrong, I still do plenty of grunt work in front of a screen and that’s where the tears come in.

IF YOU COULD HAVE ONLY THREE TOOLS FOR YOUR HUSTLE, WHAT WOULD THEY BE: Hah. Ummm… Instagram. Support. Adventure.

A WORD OF ADVICE TO WANNABE HUSTLERS IN YOUR FIELD: Stop analyzing everything. You’ll end up in a really lonely corner with just a lot of interesting theories. Appreciate the people that help you. Laugh when you really want to cry.

lovehartfield.com
Instagram: sarahannehartfield

About Shannon Flaherty

Writer. Creative. Freelancer. Freebird.
This entry was posted in HUSTLE FILES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment