Balancing Your Way Out of the ‘Busy’ Trap

Happy Sunday, everyone! Greetings from my front porch where I sit with my MacBook on my lap, plus notebooks, papers, writing projects and to-do lists all around.

Leisurely diving into my to-do’s for the day, I had a laugh when my best friend, fellow blogger and busy person Justina Blakeney sent me a link to a piece in the New York Times titled, The ‘Busy’ Trap by Opinionator contributor Tim Kreider. Wow, what great piece to read as I do my best to balance relaxation and ambition on a Sunday afternoon. I highly recommend you give it a read.

What I like most about the piece is Kreider calling out that being so “busy” is often self-imposed and something we’re addicted to, and that even though it can be the result of good things like drive and ambition, saying you’re so busy is a “boast disguised as a complaint.” Ha. So true.

Now while I’m not too guilty of using the word “busy” too much, I am guilty of always feeling like I don’t have enough time to do everything I want to do. So, yeah, I might have a little bit of this self-imposed problem described as being stuck in a “busy trap.” In fact, I’m sure most of my friends and family would cite me as having a serious case of busyness! I mean, I do have a blog called Hustle Up. : )

So, for this relaxing and rejuvenating Sunday, I’ll balance all my to-do’s with some down time and necessary idleness. As Kreider points out:
The space and quiet that idleness provides is a necessary condition for standing back from life and seeing it whole, for making unexpected connections and waiting for the wild summer lightning strikes of inspiration — it is, paradoxically, necessary to getting any work done.

Yes, I hustle, but I also know how to chill and skip the stress of feeling busy, even if I am busy. And it’s this balance that keeps me from feeling trapped. It’s something I’m very aware of and try to keep in check.

Brad Feld of Business Insider also wrote a great piece on the topic today titled, Have You Fallen Into The Busy Trap? And what I like most about his piece is his closing paragraph stating that even though he’s busy, he feels fine and is having fun:
I work hard. I work a lot. And I have in the past month. But I don’t feel “busy”. I don’t feel overwhelmed. I don’t feel oppressed. I feel like I’m doing some of the best work of my life so far. And I’m having a lot of fun.

And that’s just the point. Do all the things you love, but only as long as you’re having fun doing them. Yes, yes, my fellow hustlers, here’s to all the fun of being busy!!!

About Shannon Flaherty

Writer. Creative. Freelancer. Freebird.
This entry was posted in JOURNAL & INSPIRATIONS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Balancing Your Way Out of the ‘Busy’ Trap

  1. Justina says:

    yes!! “boast disguised as a complaint.” was one of my favorite lines in the article as well, and now I’m afraid that every time I say that I am “busy” to someone, I’m gonna feel like an asshole. ha! Yes, the truly ‘busy’ people are too ‘exhausted’ to be ‘busy.’ good food for thought.

  2. Nina Munk says:

    Here’s a question for both Shannon and Justina: Am I still a hustler if i get busy eating cheese?

  3. prairie dogs says:

    Oh man, please share how you avoid the stress of being busy even when you’re swamped. Teach me your ways! (I love this blog and the concept, by the way.)

  4. Life & Sunshine says:

    It’s so true. If you are fortunate to be able to have fun…WHILE you work your butt off, the rewards are greater, and overall, your time put into work flies by!! (yes!! time does fly when your having fUn ! It’s good advice for a work day!) Now…if we are talking vacations…. I really wish this statement were untrue! 🙂

Leave a Reply

