HUSTLE FILE #81: Elizabeth Barker


NAME: Elizabeth Barker

OCCUPATION: Freelance writer, co-author of Let It Be Beautiful (a book project in which my friend Laura Jane Faulds and I are rewriting Beatles songs as stories or essays), executive editor of fashion/music blog NOGOODFORME.com

LOCATION: Los Angeles

WHAT’S YOUR HUSTLE: Earning my dough writing band bios for record labels and health/beauty stories for various women’s magazines, and also writing up a storm for Let It Be Beautiful. Laura Jane and I just published a collection of zines that’s meant to be a sneak preview of the first volume of our book: Each zine is an excerpt; my three are “A Hard Day’s Night” (about romance-as-escapism, and ice cream), “Penny Lane” (about Los Angeles), and “Like Dreamers Do” (about productive daydreaming, rock and roll, and imaginary boys who are whimsically pyromaniacal and piggy eaters and great at baseball).

WHAT DOES YOUR HUSTLE MEAN TO YOU: I’ve been self-employed since getting laid off from a magazine job about five years ago, and lately what I most value is the freedom to move around. I’m sort of pathologically in love with Los Angeles, so it’s nice for me to get to work at Cafe Mimosa in Topanga Canyon one day and the next at a Starbucks in the Valley or Groundwork in Venice or the downtown library or my front porch. I like how each section of the city has its own special breed of weirdos.

IF YOU COULD HAVE ONLY THREE TOOLS FOR YOUR HUSTLE, WHAT WOULD THEY BE: Radio, MacBook, bed. I write best in bed.

A WORD OF ADVICE TO WANNABE HUSTLERS IN YOUR FIELD: Make your home in a city/town/forest/whatever that energizes you, never go anywhere without a notebook and a good pen, drink lots of coffee (don’t ever let them tell you coffee’s bad for you! Caffeine is an antioxidant and your friend), and—whenever you get stuck or stressed or bored with your words—put on your headphones and play a bunch of songs really loud and dance or jump around a lot till you feel all right.

ZINES!: etsy.com/shop/letitbebeautiful

About Shannon Flaherty

Writer. Creative. Freelancer. Freebird.
This entry was posted in HUSTLE FILES and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to HUSTLE FILE #81: Elizabeth Barker

  1. Bravo! Very inspirational. Thanks – as always – for sharing the Hustle.

  2. Pingback: Racing in the Strawberry Fields Whatever | HUSTLE UP

  3. Lewis says:

    What’s up i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere, when i read this post i thought i could also create comment due to this good article.

  4. I know this website provides quality dependent content and other data, is there any other web page which offers these kinds of things in
    quality?

  5. Herman says:

    This website was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I have
    found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!

  6. Carolyn says:

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d certainly donate to this excellent blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding
    your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this site with my
    Facebook group. Chat soon!

  7. Colleen says:

    Wonderful, what a website it is! This weblog gives useful
    facts to us, keep it up.

  8. I all the time used to study post in news papers but now as I am a user of net so from now I am using net for articles,
    thanks to web.

  9. Ahaa, its fastidious dialogue on the topic of this paragraph at this place at this web site, I have read all that,
    so at this time me also commenting at this place.

  10. You really make it appear so easy along with your presentation but I in finding this topic
    to be really something that I feel I’d never understand. It seems too complex and very wide for me. I am having a look forward in your subsequent submit, I will attempt to get the dangle of it!

  11. Hello there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?

    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thanks

Leave a Reply

