Do Quit Your Day Job

When you quit your full-time day job like I just did a few weeks ago, and then give yourself a little time to space out before picking up more work, you’ll find you can turn a Tuesday into a Sunday like it ain’t no thang!

Yesterday, I started the morning on my front porch, reading through the beginnings of a script I’m writing. Taking the leap to full-time freelancer has given me a whole new perspective on passion projects like this one! And I’m finding that actually having time is the biggest luxury. Hell, I even have more time to take photos while I trip out and think about what I’ll do next.

From the Eastside to the Westside, I left my front porch and made it to Venice Beach boardwalk by mid-afternoon to brainstorm about a zine I want to write…

Sunshine, palm trees, plus a cold glass of beer then rosé with my girlfriends definitely got my creative juices flowin’!

Then down to the water to play! Good thing my two girlfriends brought their three chihuahuas. It was a serious “I love LA” moment!

I mean, what else could I’ve possibly needed to make this day any more silly, summery and oh-so inspiring. I love a Tuesday-turned-Sunday!

The sea and sun were lovely as always.

And in just a day, my perspective on things shifted once again. Swept away by silliness and a super pretty Tuesday at the beach, I’m definitely feeling my mid-week hustle with a renewed sense of wonder and gratitude. Yep, quitting things is often just the start of something new and very rad! I say, do it!

About Shannon Flaherty

Writer. Creative. Freelancer. Freebird.
This entry was posted in JOURNAL & INSPIRATIONS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Do Quit Your Day Job

  1. Sole Alberti says:

    So awesome! Great post!

  2. Tigra says:

    I love it! Such an inspiring day

  3. Tigra says:

    Haha! Now that every day is Sunday, I have a million more to tell you. Love you! xxoo

Leave a Reply

