Typography: Type-it-up or Tag-it-up?

Happy Friday, y’all! A wondrous day for the full-time, work-week warriors! I must finish my morning coffee and get out the door, but before I do, I just wanted to post a couple photos. One of the things I love most about my job as a copywriter for print and web is how much I’ve learned about design and typography. Sure, I can write something cool, but if it doesn’t look cool typographically, well then it’s just not that cool.

Working in fashion, we scour all of the top rags and mags for the best in show. Here’s a cool shot of a board my art director put together for typography inspiration.

Then, of course, you’ve got your more low-brow DIY forms of typography, like this shot of plywood found laying around at SXSW in Austin this week (photo courtesy of Randy Randall of No Age).

I myself am a fan of both the hi-brow and low-brow typography. How about you? Is your style more type-it-up or tag-it-up?

About Shannon Flaherty

Writer. Creative. Freelancer. Freebird.
This entry was posted in JOURNAL & INSPIRATIONS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Typography: Type-it-up or Tag-it-up?

  1. Ellen Lutwak says:

    Yep. Copywriters-who-love-type unite! How can we not. Type is visual language. Love “found” stuff like the sign from SXSW. (Next year in Austin….) Personally, I love alphabet soup and Alpha-bits Cereal. (And eating my words.)

  2. Bekka says:

    I’m a type it up kind of girl. Thanks for tweeting at me! I love that inspiration board.

Leave a Reply

