My Top 10 of 2010

2010 was a very rad year and these are some of my favorite things that made it so very rad.

1. LEO CARRILLO STATE BEACH

This California campground is a year-round favorite. I started off 2010 camping here all by myself. New Year’s Day. Just the ocean, the canyon and me. I went back a few more times throughout the year­ – once cruising the grounds with my dude on his Harley and another time for a group trip with lots of s’mores, fireside facepaint and buying-up brews for a few surfer groms at the local Malibu market. Stoked!

2. HOMEGIRLS

I’ve got the best girlfriends a girl could ask for. From Berlin to the Bay, Spokane to San Diego and here in LA. Loves it.

3. SISTER’S WEDDING

A picnic party overlooking Lake Coeur d’Alene in Idaho with family and friends for my one-and-only sister’s wedding was by far one of the best days of my year! DJ-ing the dance party and jumping off a long dock into the lake was extra sweet!

4. CUTE NEW BABIES

A few of my best friends had babies this year. So rad. And more to come in 2011!

5. CATCHER IN THE RYE

I read it for my first time this year. So touching, sarcastic and funny, “it just about killed me.”

6. GRAND CANYON

My very rad dude and I just returned from an end-of-2010 whirlwind road trip to the Grand Canyon. A first time to the Canyon for both of us, we had a blast road trippin’ through the Mojave Desert and getting our kicks on historic Route 66. However, the funniest part about finally arriving at this Natural Wonder of the World was that we couldn’t see it. We arrived an hour after dark to stand on the rim and lookout on a black abyss. Then, we woke the next morning to a snowstorm and total whiteout. Sorry, folks. I guess Wallyworld was closed. But, us Griswalds will be back.

7. PARIS, FRANCE

A quick four-day trip in the fall for a little rendez-vous with a few of my favorite people in one of my favorite cities. C’etait parfait!

8. DARKNESS BOX SET

New never-released songs from Springsteen in the seventies, plus a bunch of rad footage, plus a replication of his original spiral notebook with songwriting notes from the era when he recorded his fourth album, “Darkness on the Edge of Town.” Ridiculously inspiring. As cool as cool can get.

9. STEADY PAYCHECK

Ahhhh, this has been the saving grace of the year. 2009 was so hardcore – no job for the first half of the economic-crisis-stricken year after returning from messing around in Europe at the end of 2008. So, working full-time for all of 2010 and getting a steady paycheck was totally awesome. Of course, my hustle continues as I work toward a career lifestyle that feels like the best fit, but man, I’m grateful for everything I’ve got. Good job with good peeps! It’s creative and I’m writing. So, I’m stoked!

10. MUSIC

More, more, more, please! This year, I wrote a few new Candy’s Room songs (my little solo act; just me, the piano and some beats), but in 2011 I will write more, record more and perform (even it’s just in my own living room). I bought a purple ukulele this year and that’s been fun, too. Also, a total inspiration, my dude is a super talented music man (ripping guitarist and songwriter), plus an encyclopedic rock ‘n roll resource, introducing me to all kinds of cool stuff – Brinsley Schwartz, John Cale, Arthur Russell, Jonathan Richman, Sparks, Misfits and more (and all this just in the past few days!). With so much inspiration around, participation is a must. 2011, hope you’re ready to rock. I am.

About Shannon Flaherty

Writer. Creative. Freelancer. Freebird.
This entry was posted in JOURNAL & INSPIRATIONS, TRAVEL & DESTINATIONS and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Top 10 of 2010

  1. Steve says:

    Wha wa? Candys’ room live in your living room. Can’t wait for that pop in. Hows’ Thursday. I also like # 7, 9 and 2 and not in that order.

    Ciao.

  2. Justina says:

    we *are* so blessed. I love reading this and the photo is jaw-droppping stunning. Love you Shan, happy 2011~

  3. Pingback: Two Weeks ’til 2012! | HUSTLE UP

Leave a Reply

