HUSTLE FILE #55: Marla Martenson

NAME: Marla Martenson

OCCUPATION: Author/Matchmaker/Speaker/Life Coach (Hey, I’m a Gemini, what can I say?)

WHAT’S YOUR HUSTLE: I am a matchmaker helping people connect with their soul mates. I was an actress/waitress for twenty years and set the goal of not being a forty-year-old waitress, so I took a job at a video dating service in 2001. Now, here I am eight years later with my own boutique matchmaking company. I am my own boss now and love it.

Although I enjoy matchmaking, my biggest hustle right now is writing. I am the author of three books – two dating advice books and my latest, Diary of a Beverly Hills Matchmaker, which is my memoir. I am busy writing the sequel to Diary which will come out in spring 2011.

I also just started a workshop with Debra Eckerling called Dream It! Then Do It! We will give ongoing workshops teaching and inspiring people to live their dreams. My dream is to have a # 1 New York Times Best Seller.

WHAT DOES YOUR HUSTLE MEAN TO YOU: I feel so wonderful when I hear that a couple I have introduced has gotten engaged or married. I also love the fact that I am able to reach and inspire so many people through my books and soon through my workshops with Debra. Our goal is to take Dream It! Then Do It! on the road.

IF YOU COULD HAVE ONLY THREE TOOLS FOR YOUR HUSTLE, WHAT WOULD THEY BE: My MacBook Air, my cell phone & my wonderful husband for inspiration.

A WORD OF ADVICE TO WANNABE HUSTLERS IN YOUR FIELD: Dream It! Then Do It! Discover your passion and then figure out how to get paid doing it.

Say hello to Marla at her book signing this Tuesday, May 18th, 7:00 p.m.

About Shannon Flaherty

Writer. Creative. Freelancer. Freebird.
This entry was posted in HUSTLE FILES and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HUSTLE FILE #55: Marla Martenson

  1. Pingback: Dream It, Then Do It « HUSTLE UP

Leave a Reply

