HUSTLE FILE #54: Bendow

NAME: Bendow (Ben Waldow)

OCCUPATION: Doodler, high school student (attending School of the Art Institute of Chicago in Fall ’10)

LOCATION: L.A.

WHAT’S YOUR HUSTLE: I draw on anything. Paper, plastic, canvas. Cardboard boxes, balloons, ATM receipts, wooden salad bowls, toilet seats, shoes, leather, skin, doorknobs. You get the picture. And sometimes I get paid for it. I always carry my pens with me. I do “temping” – temporary art – drawing on trash or stuff that’s in the alleys today, then gone. I draw on restaurant napkins and leave them. My favorite place on Sawtelle keeps them all. Maybe one day I’ll trade napkin art for food. I had my big break when I was 15 years old and was the featured student artist at Deborah Page Gallery in Santa Monica, and it took off from there. They even showed a page of my history notes covered in my doodles.

WHAT DOES YOUR HUSTLE MEAN TO YOU: I can relax and survive school and boring classes. Basically, stay sane. That’s what doodling helps me do. Stay sane.

IF YOU COULD HAVE ONLY THREE TOOLS FOR YOUR HUSTLE, WHAT WOULD THEY BE: A pen, a camera and a towel. The only things you really need.

A WORD OF ADVICE TO WANNABE HUSTLERS IN YOUR FIELD: Just keep drawing! Keep practicing. Find a style and then change it and keep changing it. Make friends. Talk to gallery owners, other artists, anyone. (And sometimes let your mom help you out.) I printed up business cards and I drew a different picture on each of them. People like them a lot.

Facebook / Flickr / Twitter: @BendowArt

This Saturday, May 15 at The Loft at Liz’s, 453 S. La Brea Ave.
Opening reception 7 p.m. – 10 p.m.
About Shannon Flaherty

Writer. Creative. Freelancer. Freebird.
This entry was posted in HUSTLE FILES and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HUSTLE FILE #54: Bendow

  1. ‘sometimes let your mom help you out…” Best. Advise. Ever. Loving the young Bendow and his hustle!

Leave a Reply

