HUSTLE FILE #42: Aadip Desai

NAME:  Aadip Desai

OCCUPATION: Writer + Stand-Up Comedian, Podcast Co-Host/Producer, Emcee/Interviewer, Music Supervisor, Blogger, Web Designer, Recording Engineer, Yelper, Drummer and Trumpeter. Past President of the Northwest Screenwriters Guild (2007-2009).

LOCATION: Los Angeles, CA (relocated from Seattle in 2009).

WHAT’S YOUR HUSTLE:  As a doer of things, jack-of-many-trades and a creative professional, I’m constantly in search of the next gig, be it writing, music or tech related. I’ve been hustling work since I was 17, always trying to learn new skills, be exposed to new ideas, and align myself with people who are passionate, honest and collaborative.  Right now, I’m focusing most of my energy on writing, which is why I moved to LA. But, the other stuff in my hustle helps sustain the writing.

Dream Gigs: Create, sell and run my own TV series; write a feature film with a cult following; punch up jokes on screenplays and TV teleplays; have something published in the New Yorker; voice a cartoon character; play in a band with Elvis Costello; emcee a panel at Comic-Con; and get my dog to roll over.

WHAT DOES YOUR HUSTLE MEAN TO YOU:  Like a shark has to swim to stay alive, I have to express myself creatively. If others recognize my work, great, but ultimately I have to be happy with what I’m putting out in the world. That may mean walking away from work that isn’t the right fit.

IF YOU COULD HAVE ONLY THREE TOOLS FOR YOUR HUSTLE, WHAT WOULD THEY BE:  Laptop, my “pair” of Maltese pups, coffee

A WORD OF ADVICE TO WANNABE HUSTLERS IN YOUR FIELD:  Be passionate about everything you do. Work hard, hit deadlines, watch your back, have integrity, be flexible, stay true to yourself creatively and professionally, have vision, laugh a lot, tip well, get plenty of rest, make allies, don’t ever fake it, have fun, learn to ask for help, and eat pancakes and waffles.

Personal Site: http://www.aadip.com

Blog: http://www.losangelesorbust.com

Business Site: http://www.porcupinepro.net/

Podcast Site: http://feeds.feedburner.com/OnThePage

About Shannon Flaherty

Writer. Creative. Freelancer. Freebird.
This entry was posted in HUSTLE FILES and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HUSTLE FILE #42: Aadip Desai

  1. “me-ing” word word word

Leave a Reply

