HUSTLE FILE #33: David Nieker

NAME: David Nieker

OCCUPATION: Advertising Copywriter/Stand-Up Comedian/Comedy Writer/Copywriting Teacher

LOCATION: Los Angeles, California

WHAT’S YOUR HUSTLE: Straight up? I work my ass off at all my jobs, but I don’t hustle anyone. And my own pace to a deadline–even a short one–is more like the tortoise. What I do is based on the fact that you’d better be able to believe my words, and your customers what I say about you. It is only honesty and hard work that make great products and great ads. So I guess you’d say my hustle is slowing people down long enough so they can see the truth. I think that’s the case with my stand-up comedy as well. I try to use my act to paint little details that reveal big truths. And when I teach people copywriting techniques, I’m happy to share the truth of what I know. Unless you tell them what’s real, people tend to hear what they want to hear. I’m like a slightly more nebbishy Butkus, Singletary or Urlacher, chasing down the boxes people are in and ripping ’em open so they can see the good parts. It’s better in slo-motion.

WHAT DOES YOUR HUSTLE MEAN TO YOU: Using no way as way. Having no limitation as limitation.

IF YOU COULD HAVE ONLY THREE TOOLS FOR YOUR HUSTLE, WHAT WOULD THEY BE: Writing implements, PA System, a large and friendly crowd.

www.popcopy.com portfolio site
comedy@popcopy.com  show mailing list and comedy inquiry
info@popcopy.com  advertising, copywriting, art and creative direction inquiry
About Shannon Flaherty

Writer. Creative. Freelancer. Freebird.
This entry was posted in HUSTLE FILES and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

