HUSTLE FILE #20: Allen Mezquida

allen_mezquida_hustle up

NAME: Allen Mezquida

NAME: Allen Mezquida
OCCUPATION: Animator, Musician
LOCATION: Echo Park LA via Lower East Side NYC.
WHAT’S YOUR HUSTLE: I’m an animator/writer and creator of SMIGLY.TV. SMIGLY is an animated cartoon about the soul-crushing shit storm that is modern life. I also play saxophone, mainly jazz.
WHAT DOES YOUR HUSTLE MEAN TO YOU: Giving people a sharp alternative to the mainstream. I’m not interested in most of the animation that comes through the studio and TV system. Working on those production lines was like holding an oar in the bowels of a Viking Ship (whipping included). Doing my own thing is a lot of work though. I used to be a whore, now I’m the pimp too.
IF YOU COULD HAVE ONLY THREE TOOLS FOR YOUR HUSTLE, WHAT WOULD THEY BE: Dell Workstation, 1957 Selmer Saxophone, Nicorette gum.
smigly.tv

OCCUPATION: Animator, Musician

LOCATION: Echo Park LA via Lower East Side NYC.

WHAT’S YOUR HUSTLE: I’m an animator/writer and creator of SMIGLY.TV. SMIGLY is an animated cartoon about the soul-crushing shit storm that is modern life. I also play saxophone, mainly jazz.

WHAT DOES YOUR HUSTLE MEAN TO YOU: Giving people a sharp alternative to the mainstream. I’m not interested in most of the animation that comes through the studio and TV system. Working on those production lines was like holding an oar in the bowels of a Viking Ship (whipping included). Doing my own thing is a lot of work though. I used to be a whore, now I’m the pimp too.

IF YOU COULD HAVE ONLY THREE TOOLS FOR YOUR HUSTLE, WHAT WOULD THEY BE: Dell Workstation, 1957 Selmer Saxophone, Nicorette gum.

smigly.tvwww.youtube.com/user/allenmez

About Shannon Flaherty

Writer. Creative. Freelancer. Freebird.
This entry was posted in HUSTLE FILES. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HUSTLE FILE #20: Allen Mezquida

  1. KXF says:

    I LOVE Smigly’s hustle! He may be broken-hearted, but he’s got great moves.

  2. “the soul-crushing shit storm that is modern life” -wowy zowy

Leave a Reply

