HUSTLE FILE #17: John Flaherty

john flaherty_hustle up

NAME: John Flaherty
OCCUPATION: Recycling waste material into energy. Perpetually searching for the appropriate business partners.
LOCATION: Road warrior – split between apartment in Las Vegas, hometown of Erie, Pennsylvania, and job sites across the country.
WHAT’S YOUR HUSTLE: Staying alive one day to the next while trying to stay out of my own way. I am practicing to be a better listener. I am working on the anti-hustle.
WHAT DOES YOUR HUSTLE MEAN TO YOU: I guess the real hustle is being the best person you can be. The world will long since forget what you did, said or owned, but instead, people will remember how you made them feel. I try to associate myself with people that bring out the best in me. Along the journey, we get to meet all kinds of people from Yale to jail. I try to stay in the middle of the vulgar herd, since there I am less likely to get picked off.
IF YOU COULD HAVE ONLY THREE TOOLS FOR YOUR HUSTLE, WHAT WOULD THEY BE: Duct tape (to repair something or myself), my 5-speed blender (for protein/power/juice shakes, plus a very reliable, drama-free companion), built-in mute button (so I can nonchalantly mute anyone talking about politics, religion or the economy).
EPILOGUE: A note of gratitude for documenting the phenomena of “hustle”… it forces one to take a look at one’s compass to see where they have been and where they are headed. No retreat, baby. No surrender. Love, Daddy-O

NAME: John Flaherty

OCCUPATION: Recycling waste material into energy. Perpetually searching for the appropriate business partners.

LOCATION: Road warrior – split between apartment in Las Vegas, hometown of Erie, Pennsylvania, and job sites across the country.

WHAT’S YOUR HUSTLE: Staying alive one day to the next while trying to stay out of my own way. I am practicing to be a better listener. I am working on the anti-hustle.

WHAT DOES YOUR HUSTLE MEAN TO YOU: I guess the real hustle is being the best person you can be. The world will long since forget what you did, said or owned, but instead, people will remember how you made them feel. I try to associate myself with people that bring out the best in me. Along the journey, we get to meet all kinds of people from Yale to jail. I try to stay in the middle of the vulgar herd, since there I am less likely to get picked off.

IF YOU COULD HAVE ONLY THREE TOOLS FOR YOUR HUSTLE, WHAT WOULD THEY BE: Duct tape (to repair something or myself), my 5-speed blender (for protein/power/juice shakes, plus a very reliable, drama-free companion), built-in mute button (so I can nonchalantly mute anyone talking about politics, religion or the economy).

EPILOGUE: A note of gratitude for documenting the phenomena of “hustle”… it forces one to take a look at one’s compass to see where they have been and where they are headed. No retreat, baby. No surrender. Love, Daddy-O

About Shannon Flaherty

Writer. Creative. Freelancer. Freebird.
This entry was posted in HUSTLE FILES and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to HUSTLE FILE #17: John Flaherty

  1. Amanda Vietta says:

    love johnny vegas. i myself am torn between the ‘anti-hustle’ and the always tempting ‘post-hustle’.

  2. ahhh, yes, the “post-hustle” is very tempting. i walked into a Home Depot the other day & had flashbacks of all that house-flipping hustling we did years ago. it made me tired just being there. LOVE YOU AMANDA. LOVE YOU DAD. you both inspire me to keep hustling. xx, s

  3. Steve says:

    I’m turning all the rhymes from your padre into my New Prince Band.
    Hit it!!!!
    Jail to Yale! Uh! Oh YEA!
    You bring the Thunder
    I’ll bring the lightning.

    Johnny makes the world not so frightning!!!

  4. joe says:

    johnny, your big break will be to publish an autobiography

  5. i love this part…

    “The world will long since forget what you did, said or owned, but instead, people will remember how you made them feel.”

    so true and beautiful.
    thanks for these lovely words. i will always carry them with me.

    be happy.

Leave a Reply

