HUSTLE FILE #10: Molly Flaherty

molly flaherty bearNAME: Molly Flaherty

OCCUPATION: (very temporary occupation): Nightshift Nursing Assistant at fancy retirement home – cleaning people, pants, pillows, piles, plates and pee-pee; changing band-aids, bottles, bladder bags, briefs, bed pans and blankets; smiling a whole lot and talking really loud. Plus, new day job as Program Manager for organization providing transitional housing to developmentally disabled adults.

LOCATION: Spokane, Washington

WHAT’S YOUR HUSTLE: Whatever the job description, newspaper ad or Craigslist calls for!!! Experienced Bartender/Server… Of course. Human Resources Admin Assistant… No problem. Bilingual Insurance Agent… Hola! Child Care Provider for newborn twins… I’m your girl. Florist… Got it. Medical transcriber… Could do it in my sleep. Need someone to transport your bedridden 300 lb. grandmother… When do I start?

I am currently hustling my resume around my new town of Spokane, WA in search of a professional setting where I can apply some of my skills of working with children and teens in tough predicaments. Anything in the area of healthcare/social work would be wonderful… However, I am willing to do anything that pays over $11/hour (I have to set some standard).  

I have found that since I first obtained my work permit at age 15 to work at the movie theater during the summer of Apollo 13, Clueless, Batman Returns, I have had so many jobs that there is almost no job description that I cannot manipulate my resume into meeting the requirements.  So, lately my daily hustle is job searchin’ and resume revisin’ while working nights caring for grammies and grampies.

I plan to start nursing school this coming year and look forward to the evolution and transformation of my hustle. In the meantime I just need to hustle!

WHAT DOES YOUR HUSTLE MEAN TO YOU: Getting out of my vampire night shift routine so that I can preserve the whites of my eyes and enjoy my relationship and my awesome apartment. Not sacrificing my dignity for a paycheck. Getting a paycheck that covers my bills and fun. Doing whatever job I do well. Providing loving, high-quality care to any human, animal or plant that I may be responsible for at any given time. Continuing to meet and engage with other beings and places and trying to learn something from each of them. Working towards having a career that is exciting yet relaxing, good for others yet good for me.    

IF YOU COULD HAVE ONLY THREE TOOLS FOR YOUR HUSTLE, WHAT WOULD THEY BE: (1) Transportation (car, bike or bus acceptable) – a must when job searching, (2) Hair rubber band – I hate having my hair down when I need to concentrate, (3) A cold beer for when I do or don’t get the job.

About Shannon Flaherty

Writer. Creative. Freelancer. Freebird.
This entry was posted in HUSTLE FILES. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to HUSTLE FILE #10: Molly Flaherty

  1. Amanda Vietta says:

    was Country Bear bummed when you didn’t place him in the top 3 things you need for your hustle?? i’m SURE your assistant Country Bear just missed it and must be the fourth most important thing for your hustle, at least he got in the photo.

  2. Stevie says:

    I’d be pissed if I was Country Bear!

  3. Molly Flaherty says:

    I don’t even know that bear. He just got in the picture when I wasn’t looking.

  4. Gregory Contreras says:

    Hey Molly…remember me? Ho I’ve missed you!!

  5. Gregory Contreras says:

    *How

Leave a Reply

