HUSTLE FILE #7: Maren Levinson

Turkey

NAME: Maren Levinson

OCCUPATION: Photo rep / agent / consultant / editor

WHAT’S YOUR HUSTLE: I talk a lot on the phone.  I try to stay out of the way and let good things happen.  Specifically, I go around the country and show the portfolios of the 6 photographers I represent to interested parties.  I like to talk about good photography to people who are as passionate about it as I am.  And I like to try and to get it into the hands of those who can make something memorable out of it.  These people include designers, art directors, creative directors at magazines, ad agencies, design firms, corporations, and organizations of any kind.  I also edit portfolios of emerging photographers, consult for magazines and design firms for their photo needs, and of course estimate and do contract work with the photographers on my roster.  I prefer working with photographers who have a distinct voice and can make pictures no one else can make (see Bill Owens photo above).

WHAT DOES YOUR HUSTLE MEAN TO YOU: Well, everything I guess.  Photos are like candy to me, smack.  And I happen to know the good from the bad.  Seeing the good stuff out there makes me happy.  It elates me.  It tickles me.  Working with the most talented people in the business and making them better is a real source of joy.  Plus, we laugh a lot.  Having people notice my agency and react enthusiastically to what we are trying to do is an absolute thrill.  That it was built from the ground up through the help of a lot of friends and colleagues (read: Katie Baum, Emily Morishita, Mike Abbink, Olivier Laude, Noah Webb) makes it all the more precious and, yes, meaningful to me.

IF YOU COULD HAVE THREE TOOLS FOR YOUR HUSTLE, WHAT WOULD THEY BE: Sleep, vision, nice light.

www.redeyereps.com

About Shannon Flaherty

Writer. Creative. Freelancer. Freebird.
This entry was posted in HUSTLE FILES. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

