HUSTLE FILE #39: Beth Mann

NAME: Beth Mann

OCCUPATION: Writer – Creative Consultant – Professional Muse – Street Witch

LOCATION: Long Beach Island, New Jersey

WHAT’S YOUR HUSTLE: I am a creative writer and consultant. Because of my years of non-traditional work (experimental theater, solo performance, video art, writing), I’m great at bringing my client’s online presence to life, in a unique and organic way. The content and consultancy I provide is distinctive and fun because I am. (I’m not bragging. It’s true! Come over and I’ll prove it.)

My writing has achieved a great deal of attention in the last year, mainly through an online community called Open Salon. I write memoir-based essays, along the lines of David Sedaris – dark and comedic.

Personally, I love surfing, cooking, drinking good wine and being a true sensual Scorpio, with all the beautiful decadence that entails.

WHAT DOES YOUR HUSTLE MEAN TO YOU: It means enjoying what I do and making money while I’m doing it. God, what a novel idea!

IF YOU COULD HAVE ONLY THREE TOOLS FOR YOUR HUSTLE, WHAT WOULD THEY BE: Sarcasm, Boldness and Feeling

A WORD OF ADVICE TO WANNABE HUSTLERS IN YOUR FIELD: Take a chance. We’ve all become so horribly homogenized. Stop trying to please people. Stop producing work entirely geared toward your audience. Speak your mind, express your feelings, find your “gut” again. Dig deeper than your comfort level. And when that doesn’t work, get naked and run toward the light, Carol Anne. I’ll be waiting for you.

http://open.salon.com/blog/beth_mann (my creative writing work)
About Shannon Flaherty

Writer. Creative. Freelancer. Freebird.
This entry was posted in HUSTLE FILES and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HUSTLE FILE #39: Beth Mann

  1. PD says:

    Be realistic…
    Shoot for the impossible…
    Only way to learn your limitations…
    Found yours yet Beth?

    Coo! that you’re here too!

Leave a Reply

